What is Curriculum for Excellence?

Curriculum for Excellence is intended to help children and young people gain the knowledge, skills and attributes needed for life in the 21st century, including skills for learning, life and work. Its purpose is often summed up as helping children and young people to become:

  • Successful learners
  • Confident individuals
  • Responsible citizens
  • Effective contributors.

These are referred to as the four capacities.

What is the curriculum and what does it include?

Curriculum for Excellence is designed to achieve a transformation in education in Scotland by providing a coherent, more flexible and enriched curriculum from 3 to 18.

Curriculum for Excellence includes four contexts for learning:

  • Curriculum areas and subjects
  • Interdisciplinary learning
  • Ethos and life of the school
  • Opportunities for personal achievement.


Curriculum Levels and Stages

Curriculum for Excellence Experiences and Outcomes are organised into four levels as outlined below.

Levels of achievement:

  • Early - The pre-school years and P1 or later for some
  • First - To the end of P4, but earlier or later for some
  • Second - To the end of P7, but earlier or later for some
  • Third and Fourth - S1-S3, but earlier for some